- Hawaii Police Department - http://www.hawaiipolice.com -
Police urge use of child restraints 03-19-02
HAWAII COUNTY POLICE DEPARTMENT
TRAFFIC SERVICES SECTION
SERGEANT RANDY K. APELE
MARCH 19, 2002
Hawaii County police are reminding drivers that it is against the law to operate a motor vehicle with a child younger than four years old unless the child is properly restrained in a child passenger restraint system.
Chapter 291-11.5 of the Hawaii Revised Statutes states that the child passenger restraint system must be approved by the U.S. Department of Transportation “at the time of manufacture.”
The statute sets out a number of penalties, depending on the number of convictions.
For first conviction, the driver is subject to a fine of $100. In addition, he must attend at least a four-hour child passenger restraint system safety class taught by the division of driver education and pay a $50 driver education assessment fee.
For second conviction, he is subject to a fine of up to $200. In addition, he must attend a child passenger restraint system safety class, if he has not done so before, and pay a $50 education assessment if required to attend the class.
For third and subsequent convictions, the driver is subject to a fine of up to $500. In addition, he must attend a child passenger restraint system safety class, if he has not done so before, and pay a $50 education assessment if required to attend the class.
For the sake of our young children, let’s make sure they are buckled in properly before we drive anywhere,” Apele said. “Young children not properly restrained are apt to be thrown around inside a vehicle if a collision occurs, which can cause serious injuries.”
# # #
Article printed from Hawaii Police Department: http://www.hawaiipolice.com
URL to article: http://www.hawaiipolice.com/police-urge-use-of-child-restraints-03-19-02
Copyright © 2014 Hawaii Police Department. All rights reserved.