Police issue July Fourth fireworks reminder 06-26-02

HAWAII COUNTY POLICE DEPARTMENT
OFFICE OF THE POLICE CHIEF
PHONE: 961-2244
JUNE 26, 2002

MEDIA RELEASE

The Hawaii County Police Department is reminding residents that they must purchase a permit in order to set off fireworks on the Fourth of July holiday.

The use of fireworks for the Independence Day holiday is permitted only between 1 p.m. and 9 p.m. on Thursday, July 4, 2002, in accordance with Section 132D-3 of the Hawaii Revised Statutes.

State law also prohibits the setting off of fireworks in any public place. In the past, police have received numerous complaints about persons setting off fireworks in public places, such as the Hilo bayfront area.

In addition, a permit for the purchase and use of non-aerial common fireworks is required. The $25 permit may be purchased from the Fire Department.

Non-aerial common fireworks include firecrackers, cylindrical fountains, cone fountains, wheels, illuminating torches and colored fire, dipped sticks, sparklers and salutes.

State law also prohibits the use of aerial bombs and displays unless a special permit is obtained.

The law defines aerial fireworks essentially as any firework “which produces an audible or visible effect and which is designed to rise into the air and explode or detonate in the air or to fly about above the ground and which is prohibited for use by any person who does not have a display permit issued by a county.”

Prohibited aerial fireworks include jumping jacks, rockets, helicopters, satellites, Roman candles, mines and shells.

It’s also against the law to:

  • Extract the gunpowder from any fireworks.
  • Throw ignited fireworks from a moving vehicle.
  • Set off fireworks in any school building or on any school grounds without authorization from school officials.
  • Set off fireworks within 1,000 feet of any hospital, convalescent home, home for the elderly or animal hospital.
  • Set off fireworks within 500 feet of any hotel.
  • Set off fireworks on any highway, alley, street, sidewalk or other public way, in any park, within 50 feet of a cane field or within 1,000 feet of any building used for public worship during the periods when services are held.

Anyone under the age of 18 is prohibited from purchasing, possessing or igniting any fireworks unless they are under the immediate supervision and control of their parents or an authorized adult.

Police officers will be looking for violators and will enforce the fireworks law. Violators are subject to a fine of up to $500.

# # #


This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.