- Hawaii Police Department - https://www.hawaiipolice.com -

Police Commemorative Tournament winners announced 05-20-03

PHONE: 961-2384
MAY 20, 2003

Jason ThorpMaria Eisemann
SHIGE 5K WINNERS-Jason Thorp and Maria Eisemann were the first male and female to cross the finish line in the Shige 5K run. Thorp’s time was 16:57; Eisemann’s, 20:19.


“Shut-D” from Kona won first place in the Open Division of the Manual Cadinha Softball Tournament. Second place went to “False Crack,” and “Get Over It” came in third.

Both “False Crack” and “Shut-D” were supposed to end the tournament by playing a final and deciding game for the championship. Both teams had beaten one another during the elimination round of play, having a loss apiece. However, due to time constraints, the deciding contest was never completed.

“False Crack” demonstrated good sportsmanship and forfeited first place to “Shut-D.”

In the Coed Division, first place went to “Lopaka’s Mix Team.” “Solja” from Kona came in second, and third place went to “Local Style.”

The softball tournament was held as part of the 13th Annual Hawaii Police Commemorative Tournament held May 10 and 11 at the Kawananakoa Gymnasium and Hualalai Park in Keaukaha. Sponsored by employees, families and friends of the Hawaii County Police Department, the multi-event sports tournament raised about $4,000, which will be used to fund annual scholarships for students enrolled in the Administration of Justice programs at the University of Hawaii at Hilo and Hilo Community College.

Another portion of the proceeds will be donated to the “Hawaii Police Memorial Fund,” which was established by Momi Cazimero, sister of the late Officer Ronald “Shige” Jitchaku, a Big Island police officer killed while attempting to break up a large brawl.

In other tournament action, the basketball portion ended with two undefeated teams claiming the Open and Law Enforcement Divisions.

In the Open Division, “Hawaiian Magic” swept through the field with an undefeated record to claim the title, highlighted by at 76-65 win over the runners up, “All Bus.” “I Don’t Know” defeated “Team Gatorade” 72-47 for third place.

The “Silver Bullets” defeated “Maui Makai” 65-54 to claim the Law Enforcement Division. “Makalii” finished third place.

Malu Motta of “Hawaiian Magic” was named the Open Division MVP and joined on the all-star squad by teammates Bruce Ferreira and Jason Cabral. Jason Mandaquit of “All Bus,” Clarence Kekaulua of “I Don’t Know” and Napela Naiole of “Team Gatorade” completed the all-star squad.

Uwao Chartrand of the “Silver Bullets” was named MVP of the Law Enforcement Division and joined on the all-star squad by teammate Randy Apele, Ross Andre, and Doug Cobile of “Maui Makai” and Robert Wagner of “Makalii.”

Under some light rain, 40 golfers competed in the golfing portion of the tournament.

Overall winners were as follows:

Special Events winners were:

In the Shige 5K run, Jason Thorp was the first male across the line to win the Overall Division in 16:57, and Maria Eisemann was the first female with 20:19.

Kepapa Chartrand-Wong was the first male across the line in 31:03 to win the Student Division, and Laimana Chartrand-Wong was the first female with 33:05.

Tim Mar was the first male to finish the Junior Division with 17:26, and Dawn Aiona was the first female with 23:45.

In the Open Division, the male winner was Jessie Ebersole with 19:11, and the first female was Cynthia Damo, who did it in 26:59.

In the Masters Division, Adam Busek was the first male across the line with a 19:40, and Laurie Kaneta was the first female with 31:34.

In the Golden Masters Division, Wayne “Big Dog” Joseph was the first male with 21:48 and Carol Publico was the first female with 30:53.

In the Seniors Division, George Yamashita won with a 26:07.

The first place Police finisher was Michael Rushton with a 22:00.

A total of seven teams competed in the mixed volleyball portion of the tournament. First place went to “Big Island Tropical Landscaping.” “Ona Mau” came in second, and “Corrections” took third place.

# # #