HI-PAL Basketball Winter Classic Scores 01/06/00

PHONE: 961-2220
JANUARY 6, 2000


The Andrews Braves defeated the Piopio Bears 15-13 to capture the championship of the 9 & 10 Division in the 1999 HI-PAL Winter Basketball Classic, held December 26-29, 1999.

A total of 82 teams from around the state competed in five age divisions in this year’s tournament.

In the 9 & 10 Division championship game, Brent Sanbei of the Braves and Colin Cabatbat of the Bears scored 9 points each to lead their respective teams.

Members of the Andrews Braves were Sanbei, Riley Iida, Ryan You, Jordan Sakumoto, Kiley Kawazoe, Nolan Wong, Rory Inouye and Travis Kuwahara. They were coached by Art Sanbei and Ricky Iida.

The Andrews Rockets defeated the Manoa Seven 17-12 for third place. The consolation award went to Manoa Green, which defeated Waiakea Uka 24-21.

Members of the All-Tournament Team were Colin Cabatbat of the Piopio Bears, Riley Iida of the Andrews Braves, Kevin Segawa of the Andrews Rockets, Jordan Okamura of the Manoa Seven and Jeffrey Tsutsusa of the Manoa Green. The Most Valuable Player was Brent Sanbei of the Andrews Braves.

In the Girls 12 and Under Division, the Kona Stingrays squeaked by Yo of Hilo 26-24 to win the championship in a game that was in doubt until the final buzzer. For the Stingrays, Denise Akao scored 11 points; for the Yo, Jaci Coloma led with 7 points.

Members of the Kona Stingrays were Akao, Jazzmin Williams, Jennifer Ching, Leesa Deniz, Nesha Kimitete, Liana Hanato-Smith, Malissa Minor, Sareena Hanato and Kelcie Tavares. They were coached by Don Awa.

Manoa Green defeated Manoa White 12-7 to capture third place in the division, and Zoom slipped by Andrews Swoosh 8-7 in the consolation game.

Members of the All-Tournament Team were Kristine Takahara and Chelsea Kadota of Manoa Green, Leilani Galdones and Jaime Mattos of Yo and Denise Akao of the Stingrays. Jazzmin Williams of the Singrays was selected Most Valuable Player.

In the Boys 11 & 12 Division, the Kona Stingrays beat Kaimuki of Oahu 29-27 for the championship. Ioane Spencer led the Stingrays with 14 points, and James Wo and Brenton Lee scored 14 and 11 points respectively for Kaimuki.

Members of the Stingrays were Spencer, Tory Guillermo, Jerome Kalili Jr., Evan Rogers, Thomas Kaupu, Cory Shiraishi, Brian Taketa, T.J. Akina, Holden Ching and Anthony Villalba. Their coach was Don Awa.

The Kona Shockers Blue defeated the Eagles Blue 34-23 for third place, and St. Joseph defeated Manoa 37-26 in the consolation game.

Members of the All-Tournament Team were James Wo and Brenton Lee of Kaimuki, Aukai Wong of the Knicks, Cameron Kawai of Kohala and Kiran Kepoo of Shockers Blue. The Most Valuable Player was Ioane Spencer of the Stingrays.

In the Girls 14 & Under Division, the Kona Stingrays beat the Kalakaua Athletic Club of Oahu 26-19 for the championship. Jessica Hanato led the Stingrays with 12 points, and Cheryl Lee led the Kalakaua team with 10 points.

Members of the Stingrays were Hanato, Raynelle Shim, Tiare DeAguiar, Malaea Spencer, Jennifer Tayamen, Shawna Marie Gomes, Loren Gomes and Kahaunani Kahananui. They were coached by Bobbie Awa.

Third place went to the Waimea Ponekos, which handed What of Hilo a 25-22 defeat. Jayar of Oahu won the consolation award by beating Manoa 25-15.

Members of the All-Tournament Team were Lindsey Lee of What, Cheryl Lee and Lori Nakamoto of the Kalakaua Athletic Club and Jennifer Tayamen and Raynelle Shim of the Stingrays. India Soo of the Waimea Ponekos was named Most Valuable Player.

The Boys & Girls Club of Honolulu squeaked pass the Kona Tigers 24-23 to win the championship in the Boys 13 & 14 Division. Both teams displayed intense team defense and balanced scoring. The Boys & Girls Club’s Joshua Valez led all scoring with 9 points.

Members of the Boys & Girls Club of Honolulu were Valdez, Robby Hopper, James Castro, Davey Nguyen, Alvin Ngo, Edward Paulo, Mark Naleatsuka, Nick Milan, Daniel Ki, Justin Goo and Quincy Crowell. They were coached by Kimo Bajet.

Kaimuki derailed Waimanalo 29-16 for third place, and the Piopio Bears White defeated Waiakea Uka 38-33 for the consolation award.

Members of the All-Tournament team were Ian Guiteirez of Piopio Bears White, Weston Lee of Kaimuki, Jordan Montgomery of Waimanalo, Joshua Valez of the Boys & Girls Club of Honolulu and Easton Takata of the Kona Tigers. The Most Valuable Player was Kyle Teves of the Kona Tigers.

HI-PAL thanked all athletes, parents and coaches for their participation in making the 1999 Winter Classic a success.

# # #

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.
  • Keep your community safe through Crime Stoppers

    Tipsters who prefer to remain anonymous may call the island-wide Crime Stoppers number at 961-8300 and may be eligible for a reward of up to $1,000.00. Crime Stoppers is a volunteer program run by ordinary citizens who want to keep their community safe. Crime Stoppers does not record calls or subscribe to any Caller ID service. All Crime Stoppers information is kept confidential.

    The Crime Stoppers TV Program is available on-demand from Nā Leo TV.