Results of police tourney announced 05-26-04

PHONE: 961-2384
MAY 26, 2004

Basketball Champs
Volleyball Champs
Basketball Champs
Volleyball Champs
Softball Champs
Running & Walking Champs
Softball Champs
Running & Walking Champs


The 14th Annual Hawaii Police Commemorative Fund Tournament was held on May 14-16, 2004 in Keaukaha, raising about $3500.00.

The three-day event included basketball, co-ed and men’s softball, golf, and volleyball tournaments, and a 5K run and 1.5 mile walk.

In the “Shige 5K Fun Run” held on Saturday morning, Wesley Hagio finished the 3.1-mile course with a blazing time of 17:40 and was the Male and Overall finisher.

Millie Cooke was the first female finisher with a time of 23:49.

In the Student Division, Jonathan Ucker finished the 5K in 20:49 for the first male finisher and Laimana Chartrand-Wong was the first female finisher with a time of 42:46.

In the Junior Division, Louie Perry was the first male finisher, crossing the finish line at 21:11.

In the Open Division, Richard Camp was the first male finisher with a time of 21:30.

Lynn Miyamoto finished the course in a time of 36:31 as the first female finisher in the Open Division.

In the Masters Division, Nelson Gagnon crossed the finish line with a time of 23:59.

The first female finisher for the Masters Division was Laurie Kaneta, coming in with a time of 35.44.

In the Golden Masters Division, the first male finisher was Frank Bonaccorso, finishing with a time of 24:28 and the first female finisher was Caroline Publico with a time of 28:23.

In the Seniors Division George Yamashita finished the 5K run in 29:44 and Isabella Miyashita was the first female finisher.

The first finisher for the Police was Sam Jelsma, burning up the track with a time of 31:47.

Successfully defending his Final Finisher title once again was Uwao Chartrand, who nearly set a course record with a time of 50:35.

In the 1.5-mile walk, Clarence Andrade was the Overall and first male finisher and Raycee Cooke was the first female finisher.

Kirah Cooke was the first male finisher in the Student Division.

Keri Morita was the first female in the Open Division.

Carole Makia was the first female in the Masters Division.

Amy Miyao was the first female in the Golden Masters Division.

In the co-ed softball, Line Drive went undefeated throughout the tournament and beat Lopaka’s in the championship game with a score of 15-3. Lopaka’s finished in second place, followed by Local Style/Rebels.

Queena Lawrence won the MVP Award for the Co-Ed Division.

Members of the Line Drive championship team are Lance Orita, Kimy Orita, Kimo Kanazawa-Yee, Shery Kanazawa-Yee, Lennie Okano, Keola Kendrick, Joki Takeya, Damon Asam, Husdon Porter, Queena Lawrence, Jolynne Harris, Kauhane Harris, and Alins Kyota.

In the open softball division, False Crack also went undefeated and beat Haters 31-14 in the championship game. Haters won second place and Da Guys took third place.

The entire False Crack team won the MVP honors.

Members of the False Crack champions were Len Miyao, Baba Lancaster, Blain Medeiros, Kirk Imai, Kaha Wong, Duke Waikii, Douglas Reavis, Kanika Kane, Tad Estrada, Butterball, Tommy Mattos, Chad Canda, Sheldon Aguiar, Kiki Urbano-Pepe’e, and Pauline Young.

In the volleyball tournament, Corrections won first place by going undefeated and beating Onamau in the championship game. Corrections was led by the outstanding play of Rose Ramsey. Onamau finished in second place behind the solid play of Ketura De Mattos. Natatorium finished in third place and was led by Eddie Kalima.

The Cinderella Story of the volleyball tournament was the “Fire” team, consisting of employees and family members of the Hawaii Fire Department. “Fire” was led by the inspiring play of Chief Darryl Oliveira and Deputy Chief Desmond Wery. The experienced play of Lana Rowe overwhelmed opposing teams, resulting in a winning record for the first time in tournament history and were unofficially named the “Most Improved Team.” Team spokesperson Laurie Kaneta declared, “You ain’t seen nothing yet.”

The Basketball tournament consisted of two divisions, the Open Division and Law Enforcement Division.

In the Open Division, Kyle Bartholomew scored 27 points as Man Up edged Pacific Mortgage 78-77 in overtime to claim the championship. Bartholomew was named the Most Valuable Player and was joined on the all star team by team mate Jason Mandaquit. Wes Cabreros and Jason Cabral of Pacific Mortgage, along with Cliff Kawaha of “I Don’t Know” and Shaun Fuiava of Wackenhut.

In the Law Enforcement Division, Randy Apele scored 27 points as Bay City Blues defeated Maui Corrections 73-59 to claim the title. Uwao Chartrand of the Blues was named Most Valuable Player and joined on the all star team by team mate Randy Apele, Ross Andres and Doug Cobile of Maui Corrections, Shane Meyer of TSA, and Tommy Waltjen of Makalii.

In the golf tournament held at the Banyan Golf Course, Miles Kekaualua won first place in “A” flight with a gross of 74, followed by Dean Pinner in second and Duane Yugawa in third.

In the “B” flight, Joe Naikidi took first place with a gross score of 74, followed by Tevita Duituturaga who finished second, and third went to Ann Fuke.

The “C” flight was won by Larry Kim with a gross of 77, followed by Dale Tokuuke in second and Joe Kealoha finishing third.

In the Callaway Division, Harvey Nakasone took first, followed by Elliot Kaimi and Chris Gali finishing in third.

Low Net score was a 57 by Larry Kim and Low Gross score was a 71 by Duane Yugawa.

# # #

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.
  • Keep your community safe through Crime Stoppers

    Tipsters who prefer to remain anonymous may call the island-wide Crime Stoppers number at 961-8300 and may be eligible for a reward of up to $1,000.00. Crime Stoppers is a volunteer program run by ordinary citizens who want to keep their community safe. Crime Stoppers does not record calls or subscribe to any Caller ID service. All Crime Stoppers information is kept confidential.

    The Crime Stoppers TV Program is available on-demand from Nā Leo TV.