SHOPO police basketball tournament 05-27-09

Hawai’i Police Department
South Hilo Patrol
Lieutenant Gregory Esteban
Phone: 961-2213
May 27, 2009

(See larger image here.)
Eight team members standing in uniform
Representing Big Island police in the SHOPO Police Basketball Tournament:
Front Row: Greg Esteban, Prentiss Moreno,
Robert Wagner, Kaleo Perez. 
Back Row:
Uwao Chartrand, Jimmy Kawaihalau, Walter Ah Mow, Aaron Kaleo.

Media Release

The "Bay City Blues" basketball team returned to Hilo with some hardware after a successful three-day tournament recently held on Oahu. 

Hawaii Police Department officers and friends participated in the annual SHOPO Police Basketball Tournament held on May 21-23 at the Manoa District Park and McKinley High School gyms in Honolulu.

Twelve teams competed in three divisions during the three-day event involving police officers representing all four police departments throughout Hawaii.

In the Open Division, Big Island representatives "Big I" finished in 3rd place in the highly competitive division. In the semi-finals, "Big I" was down by 20 points and nearly pulled an upset over Oahu’s "Run N Gun" and ended up losing by two points. 

Members of the Open Division team were Aaron Kaleo, Richard Nery, Louie Ondo, Josh Flores, Chuck Cobile, Cacique Melendez, Dustin Sampaga and Keenan Ouranitsas.

Kaleo was selected to the Open Division "All Star" team.

In the Masters Division, "Bay City Blues" beat perennial champs "Bricklayers" from Honolulu during the semi-finals, but lost a heartbreaker to "Run N Gun," also from Honolulu, in the finals to finish in second place. 

Representing the Masters Division "Blues" team were Robert Wagner, Greg Esteban, Uwao Chartrand, Aaron Kaleo, Kaleo Perez and Jimmy Kawaihalau.

Chartrand was selected to the Masters Division "All Star" team.

"Bay City Blues" ran out of time and gas and lost to "Run N Gun" in the finals of the Golden Masters Division.

The "Blues" Golden Masters team included Wagner, Esteban, Chartrand, Perez, Kawaihalau, Walter Ah Mow, Rollin Rabara, Prentiss Moreno, and Tommy Waltjen.

Chartrand, Wagner, and Perez were selected to the Golden Masters "All Star" team.

The 2010 SHOPO tournament will be hosted by Big Island police and will be played in Kailua-Kona.

This entry was posted in Media Releases. Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.
  • Keep your community safe through Crime Stoppers

    Tipsters who prefer to remain anonymous may call the island-wide Crime Stoppers number at 961-8300 and may be eligible for a reward of up to $1,000.00. Crime Stoppers is a volunteer program run by ordinary citizens who want to keep their community safe. Crime Stoppers does not record calls or subscribe to any Caller ID service. All Crime Stoppers information is kept confidential.

    The Crime Stoppers TV Program is available on-demand from Nā Leo TV.