Winners of Police Tourney Announced 05-22-01

PHONE: 961-2384
MAY 22, 2001


“Da Guys” beat “Most Wanted” 25-9 to win the Kenneth Keliipio Softball Tournament.

In the tournament featuring nine teams, “Da Guys” were led by Rob Stewart, Russell Paiva and Rob Mecham. “Most Wanted” were led by Clarence Kekaulua and Tommy Mattos.

“Line Drive” came in third place.

The softball tournament is held in memory of Officer Kenneth K. Keliipio, who was killed in a motor vehicle collision while assisting a stranded motorist.

The softball games were part of a three-day multi-event sports tournament held Friday through Sunday (May 18-20, 2001) and sponsored by employees, families and friends of the Hawaii County Police Department.

This year’s tournament generated about $4,500 in proceeds, which are used to fund the construction of a memorial for police officers who have been killed in the line of duty in the State of Hawaii and to provide annual scholarships for students enrolled in the Administration of Justice programs at UH-Hilo and Hilo Community College.

In the “Daison ‘Froggie’ Morita Mixed Volleyball Tournament,” which consisted of six teams, “No Matta” won over “Corrections,” with a total of eight wins. “Kalima’s” came in third place.

The volleyball tournament was established in memory of Daison Morita, an airport firefighter who was killed in a motor vehicle collision.

In the basketball tournament, which consisted of nine teams, “Hilo Police” won the Law Enforcement Division over “Team Maui,” a team of correctional officers from Maui. “Hilo Corrections” took third place. Aaron Kaleo from “Hilo Police” was the division’s most valuable player.

In the Open Division, “Pinnacle Investment” beat “Keaukaha” to take the championship. “Aiona Ohana” took third place. Lenny Kai of “Pinnacle Investment” was most valuable player for the division.

In Saturday’s “Shige 5K” run, Eric Glaus won the Overall Men’s Division with a time of 17:47. Lee Collins was the Overall Women’s Division winner with a time of 26:10.

Other Men’s Division winners and their times were: Student, Kahiapo Chartrand, 32:42; Junior, Sol Ray Duncan, 25.39; Open, Jesse Ebersole, 18:27; Masters, James Murphy, 19:50; Golden Masters, Manuel Bega, 29:18; and Seniors, Morgan Matsumura, 34:06.

Other Women’s Division winners and their times were: Student, Ku’uhoni Chartrand, 47:40; Junior, Dawn Aiona, 26:43; Masters, Laurie Kaneta, 31:07; and Golden Masters, Marie Kuramoto, 27:59.

Mike Rushton of the Puna District was the first place police finisher for the third year in a row with a time of 22:42. And Chris Gali of the Traffic Enforcement Unit was the final police finisher with a time of 52.16.

In the 1.5-mile walk, Clarence Andrade won the Overall Men’s Division with a time of 17:19, and Dora Hayashida won the Overall Women’s Division in 19:06.

Other Men’s Division winners were: Student, Manoa Johansen; Open, Glenn Kealoha; Masters, Carlton Inada; Golden Masters, Matthew Lum; and Seniors, Buff Hayashida.

Other Women’s Division winners were: Student, Allison O’Conner; Open, Jackie Kaya and Jessie Crivello (tie); Masters, Patti Kodama; Golden Masters, Jennifer Osorio; and Seniors, Jym Duncan.

The “Shige 5K” run and 1.5-mile walk are named in honor of the memory of Ronald Shigeru “Shige” Jitchaku , a veteran police officer who was killed in the line of duty on May 7, 1990, while he and fellow officers were trying to quell a large riot on Banyan Drive in Hilo.

Among the notable finishers this year were 78-year-old Morgan Matsumura and another large contingent from the Uwao Chartrand family, who has supported the event since its inception.

Clarence Andrade continues to dominate the walk, and newcomers this year included retired Police Captain Buff Hayashida and his wife Dora, who took first overall in the women’s category.

The Jitchaku family was also well represented, with Ronny Jitchaku Jr., Shige’s son-in-law Mark Johansen and Shige’s grandson Manoa Johansen all completing the walk.

Each of the 70 participants received a unique commemorative “Shige 5K” fanny pack with water bottle holder, an idea inspired by Officer John Weber.

Sunday’s golf tournament held at Banyan Drive Golf Course attracted 40 golfers. The lowest gross scorer overall was Tom Kalili with a 67; the lowest net scorer was Larry Kim with a 56.

First-place winner in flight A was Tom Kalili and Flight B was Jay Enanoria. The winner of Flight C was Larry Kim. In Calloway, Donald Ah Chong was the winner, and for the Women’s, Karen Shimura won.

Paul Silva won the Longest Drive award with a 263-yard drive. For the Closest to Pin shot, Duane Yugawa won.

Elsie Higa won the special drawing for golf for four at the Waikoloa Hilton’s King’s Course, worth $780.

# # #

This entry was posted in Media Releases. Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.
  • Keep your community safe through Crime Stoppers

    Tipsters who prefer to remain anonymous may call the island-wide Crime Stoppers number at 961-8300 and may be eligible for a reward of up to $1,000.00. Crime Stoppers is a volunteer program run by ordinary citizens who want to keep their community safe. Crime Stoppers does not record calls or subscribe to any Caller ID service. All Crime Stoppers information is kept confidential.

    The Crime Stoppers TV Program is available on-demand from Nā Leo TV.